Giant Pumpkin Update

My very large and slightly out of control Pumkpin Patch, and my three calves waiting for me to turn my back so they can chomp my patch.

My very large and slightly out of control Pumpkin Patch, and my three calves waiting for me to turn my back so they can chomp my patch.

I have been holding off for a few weeks letting you know my progress in my failures of the giant pumpkin patch. After the first and final post of my original giant pumpkin I really didn’t want to jinks myself or get you all excited about another rotten pumpkin:) So l held off till now.

After spending so much time on the patch l spent the first few days after losing my giant just looking at the patch wondering just how it all went belly up. (the horrible season I think)Even though l had no chance of getting the heaviest pumpkin at the local show l had promised the local Brownie Unit a visit from my giant pumpkin this year and l really don’t like letting the girls down (I would also like to redeem myself a little with my loyal followers) what a disaster!!!

The patch stayed and I continued my watering daily and fertilizer weekly. I did stop removing the tips to let it keep growing but continued to remove all the new baby pumpkins except one. I started focusing on it and  unfortunately it too went the same way as the first. I really couldn’t believe my bad luck this season. But the weather has been hot, (awesome pumpkin growing weather finally) and lucky for me when the weather is hot in the middle of the day the whole patch withered which exposed a baby l had missed and it’s certainly is not a baby much bigger and more progressed then the others. It seems to be going in the right direction BIGGER not rotten so I guess even though it was a struggle I may still get a decent size giant yet. One big enough to impress a bunch of brownies anyway.

My third and finally attempt for a 2016 Giant Pumpkin.

My third and finally attempt for a 2016 Giant Pumpkin.

Today, the patch continues to grow and the daily routine to remove all babies is now starting to become a real challenge as the pumpkin patch is about 6x10metres and to get to all the growing pumpkin is now not possible as the damage done to the pumpkin may be far worse and l don’t want to risk loosing this one too. As you can see it’s still growing plenty to keep me busy. Maybe I should train my dog to be a baby pumpkin sniffing dog like those truffle sniffing pigs.LOL She would come in very handy.

Just out of arms length.

Just out of arms length.

So let the pumpkin growing weather continue for just a little longer as l’ve still got a giant to grow!!!

I will keep you posted on it progress.

Fingers cross in fact I have everything crossed this time:)

Happy Gardening:)

About Chantal

My name is Chantal Currie, I'm 40 years old and married with two children, a Labrador named Lola, a very spoilt chihuahua Milo and Tiger the cat. I live and work on our dairy farming property. My hobbies use to be my kids now they don't need me anymore (boohoo) l get to spend my time in my garden.

2 responses »

  1. olhicur22 says:

    It looks like the Master Gardener in the Sky was looking out for you, hiding a viable baby pumpkin deep in your patch. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chantal says:

      Thanks for your lovely comments. I think you might be right, but then maybe l just missed it. I was adding them up the other day and l believe l have removed about 150 baby pumpkins since the patch began. l find it really amazing the growth of the Atlantic Pumpkins. I think that’s why l like growing them.
      Have a great day:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

